Alsace wines logo domaine Justin BOXLER

ALSACE WINES

Independent Winemaker

JUSTIN BOXLER

Listening to the terroir

At the domain Justin BOXLER , the new generation has adopted the philosophy of the old ones. Observe and Respect the Terroir . This wine-growing practice continues in the cellar and makes it possible to sublimate the Alsace grape varieties. A touch of modernity is added to traditional know-how. The conversion process “ORGANIC” company in 2019 thus takes on its full meaning and brings more authenticity to Alsace wines .

 

Discover our WINES and download your purchase order

Alsace wines

LE DOMAINE

Like most of Alsace's wineries, the Justin Boxler estate has carried on the tradition from father to son since the Renaissance ...

Historic cellar, Alsace wines domain Justin BOXLER
Dégustation cave du domaine Justin Boxler.

WINE TRADITION AND CULTURAL REVOLUTION

Like most wine-growing establishments in Alsace, the domain Justin Boxler continues the tradition from father to son since the Renaissance. But the most significant developments have taken place from 1957 to the present day. After the first bottling initiated by Justin boxler , the transformation of the company both technically and commercially was initiated by Anne and Pierre , his children settled in EARL: extension of the domain, new cellar, new cultivation practices, new cellar, new visual identity. This modernization drive is being continued by the rising generation, the first act of which was to implement the conversion “ Organic Of the domain in 2019. So l the vintage 2022 will be the first certified vintage “ AB ” (Organic Agriculture).

COMMUNAL BANS AND PLOTS

The wine-growing area of Justin Boxler estate is 12 hectares. They are spread over 5 municipal bans: Katzenthal (5 ha), Niedermorschwihr (4.70 ha), Ingersheim (1 ha), Turckheim (0.80 ha) and finally Ammerschwihr (0.60 ha) and are divided into 80 different plots.
The wine-growing ban of Niedermorschwihr being one of the smallest bans in Alsace, a large part of the cultivated areas are located in Katzenthal, a village bordering Niedermorschwihr and the historic cradle of a branch of the Boxler family. However, the plots are never more than 8 km from the property.

LE TERROIR

At the Justin Boxler estate, the soils are mainly granite (Brand, Sommerberg, Winheck-Schlossberg), limestone (Florimont, Pfoeller), clay and marnogresous ...

Vue sur le Grand Cru Brand, terroir granitique situé à Turckheim
Encépagemen
Limestone cave of the Grand Cru Florimont
Arène granitique du Grand Cru Sommerberg situé à Niedermorschwihr
Encépagement du domaine : Riesling majoritaire et Pinot Gris.

GEOLOGICAL DIVERSITY

The diversity of Alsatian wine-growing soils, rich in 13 geological varieties, makes up a mosaic of terroirs conducive to the development of wines with a strong personality. At the Justin Boxler estate, the soils are essentially granite (Brand, Sommerberg, Wineck-Schlossberg), limestone (Florimont, Pfoeller), clay and marnogresous.

CARE, PRUNING AND RESPECT FOR THE VINE

Permanent maintenance and judicious care of the soil are fundamental and reveal the specific qualities and purity of a particular terroir: plowing, mowing, picking and natural grassing up to the feet of the vines, were reinstated very early on at the estate. But it is mainly through an appropriate size, here very short, that the winegrower can extract the best from his plots.

 

These, generally planted in the 1950s, benefit from the size known as “ Guyot-Poussard »Which makes it possible to sublimate the harvests, especially in old vines. By favoring small yields, the wines reflect even better the originality of each terroir.
Each year all the plots are supplemented by a contribution of young plans: this is the complantation . Diseases like Esca and climatic hazards weaken the vineyard. To prevent soil dieback, the dead plants are pulled up in the fall and renewed the following spring.

ORGANIC CONVERSION

After having followed the specifications of Organic Agriculture for a decade, the Justin Boxler estate has undertaken an official “AB” conversion process in 2019.

Guyot-Poussard cuting adapted to our vineyard for 5 years.
Harvests in the Grand Cru Sommerberg hillside
cuverie

ORGANIC SPIRIT

The use of weedkillers, of insecticides and chemical fertilizers was abandoned in 2009. In 2003, only contact products were used in order to better protect the soil and preserve the fauna that coexists with the vine. After having followed the specifications of Organic Agriculture for a decade, the estate undertook an official “AB” conversion process in 2019.

ORGANIC AND YIELDS

By following “BIO”cultivation practices, yields tend to decrease, which produces more concentrated juices and gives the wines richness and complexity. In 2019, the appellation yields “ AOC Alsace »Were 57hl / ha against 80 hl / ha authorized by the specifications. As to “ Grands Crus ”, They approached a yield of 40hl / ha against 55hl / ha authorized.

ORGANIC AND VINIFICATION

The practice of ORGANIC does not only apply to the vines but also to the cellar. Particular attention is paid to the sparing use of sulfur (So2) as well as that of inputs oenological . At the estate, only a minimum of sulfur necessary for the protection of the wine is added and the endogenous elements contained in the grapes are favored rather than using products from the chemical industry.

Wines

More than half of the vineyard of the Justin Boxler estate is devoted to so-called noble grape varieties: Gewurztraminer, Muscat, Pinot Gris and Riesling ...

The terroir of Grand Cru Sommerberg
Fall color in the Justin Boxler vineyard
Riesling bay from Domaine Justin Boxler

GRAPES

More than half of the grape variety Justin Boxler estate is devoted to so-called noble grape varieties: Gewurztraminer , Muscat , Pinot Gris and Riesling . But it is the Riesling that prevails on the estate with its 4 hectares in operation while the Pinot Noir is expected to develop on the surface in the future.

TECHNICAL ITINERARY

All the harvest is done manually. The press time varies according to the grape varieties in order to allow the juices to be extracted as delicately as possible and to gain finesse and complexity.
After settling when cold, the juices are entered into tuns. The alcoholic fermentation starts under the impetus of indigenous yeasts present in grapes. After fermentation, the wines are aged in these same tuns until they are bottled at the property nine to twelve months later.

THE WINE RANGE

TRADITION : highlighting of the grape variety. The wines are fresh, ready to drink within 3 years after bottling.
SELECTED VINES : honoring the terroir. This is particularly the case with Place called Pfoeller , terroir predominantly limestone. These wines can be kept in the cellar for more than 5 years.
GRAND CRU : plot and identity vinification for each terroir. With four Grands Crus and three different grape varieties, the estate offers seven vintages with a cellaring capacity of 10 years or more.
EXCEPTION : extended maturity on the vine. These wines for long aging are referred to as ” Late Harvests” or ” Selection of Noble Grains “.

Discover or rediscover our different Wines and Terroirs – ask for your purchase order .

Maison Vins d'Alsace Justin Boxler
Justin BOXLER vineyard
Tasting cellar domain Justin BOXLER

Thank you for your visit !

ADDRESS

ALSACE WINES JUSTIN BOXLER
15-16 rue des Trois Épis
68230 Niedermorschwihr
+33/389.271.107
Write us

WINE TOURISME

Our cellar is open from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and from 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. daily to welcome you. By reservation on Sundays in January, February and March.

If you want to make a getaway in Alsace, we suggest you stay in the family hotel, an old farmhouse which has preserved the traditional atmosphere of the region.

FACEBOOK
>

vins-justin-boxler

VINS D'ALSACE

Vigneron Indépendant

JUSTIN BOXLER

A l'écoute du Terroir

Au domaine Justin BOXLER, la nouvelle génération a fait sienne la philosophie des anciens. Observer et Respecter le Terroir. Cette pratique viticole se poursuit en cave et permet de sublimer les cépages d’Alsace. Au savoir-faire traditionnel s’ajoute une touche de modernité. La démarche en conversion « BIO » entreprise en 2019 prend ainsi tout son sens et apporte plus d’authenticité aux Vins d’Alsace.

LE DOMAINE

A l'image de la plupart des exploitations viticoles d'Alsace, le domaine Justin Boxler perpétue la tradition de père en fils depuis la Renaissance...

Vignes du Sommerberg
Cave historique. Vinification en foudre centenaire.
Dégustation cave Justin Boxler

TRADITION VITICOLE ET RÉVOLUTION CULTURALE

A l’image de la plupart des exploitations viticoles d’Alsace, le domaine Justin Boxler perpétue la tradition de père en fils depuis la Renaissance. Mais les évolutions les plus marquantes ont eu lieu de 1957 à nos jours. Après la première mise en bouteilles initiée par Justin Boxler, la transformation de l’entreprise tant sur le plan technique que commercial a été initiée par Anne et Pierre, ses enfants installés en GAEC : extension du domaine, nouvelle cave, nouvelles pratiques culturales, nouveau chai, nouvelle identité visuelle. Cet élan de modernisation est poursuivi par la génération montante dont le premier acte a consisté à mettre en place la conversion « Bio » du domaine en 2019. Ainsi le millésime 2022 sera le premier millésime certifié « AB » (Agriculture Biologique).

BANS COMMUNAUX ET PARCELLES

La surface viticole du domaine Justin Boxler est de 12 hectares. Ils sont répartis sur 5 bans communaux : Katzenthal (5 ha), Niedermorschwihr ( 4,70 ha), Ingersheim (1 ha), Turckheim (0,80 ha) et pour finir Ammerschwihr (0,60 ha) et se divisent en 80 parcelles différentes.
Le ban viticole de Niedermorschwihr étant l’un des plus petits bans d’Alsace, une grande partie des surfaces exploitées se situent à Katzenthal, village limitrophe à Niedermorschwihr et berceau historique d’une branche de la famille Boxler. Les parcelles ne sont cependant jamais distantes de plus de 8 km de la propriété.

LE TERROIR

Au domaine Justin Boxler, les sols sont essentiellement granitiques (Brand, Sommerberg, Winheck-Schlossberg), calcaires (Florimont, Pfoeller), argileux et marnogréseux...

Vue sur le Grand Cru Brand
Grotte Calcaire du Grand Cru Florimont
Arène granitique du Grand Cru Sommerberg

DIVERSITÉ GÉOLOGIQUE

La diversité des sols viticoles alsaciens riches de 13 variétés géologiques compose une mosaïque de terroirs propice à l’élaboration de vins avec une forte personnalité. Au domaine Justin Boxler, les sols sont essentiellement des terrains granitiques (Brand, Sommerberg, Wineck-Schlossberg), calcaires (Florimont, Pfoeller), argileux et marnogréseux.

ENTRETIEN, TAILLE ET RESPECT DE LA VIGNE

L’entretien permanent et les soins judicieux du sol sont fondamentaux et révèlent les qualités spécifiques et la pureté d’un terroir particulier : labour, fauchage, piochage et enherbement naturel jusqu’aux pieds des vignes, ont été réinstaurés très tôt au domaine. Mais c’est principalement par une taille appropriée, ici très courte, que le viticulteur pourra extraire le meilleur de ses parcelles.
Celles-ci, généralement plantées dans les années 1950, bénéficient de la taille dite « Guyot-Poussard » qui permet de sublimer les récoltes, notamment dans les vieilles vignes. En privilégiant les petits rendements, les vins retranscrivent encore mieux l’originalité de chaque terroir.
Chaque année l’ensemble des parcelles est complété par un apport de jeunes plans : c’est la complantation. Des maladies comme l’Esca et les aléas climatiques affaiblissent le vignoble. Pour éviter un dépérissement du sol, les pieds morts sont arrachés à l’automne et sont renouvelés au printemps suivant.

LA CONVERSION BIO

Après avoir suivi pendant une décennie le cahier des charges de l’Agriculture Biologique, le domaine Justin Boxler a entrepris une démarche officielle de conversion « AB » courant 2019.

Taille Guyot-Poussard adapté à notre vignoble depuis 5 ans
Vendanges dans le coteau du Grand Cru Sommerberg
Nouveau chai, inauguré en 2018

ESPRIT BIO

L’usage de désherbants, d’insecticides et d’engrais chimiques a été abandonné dès 2009. En 2003, seuls les produits de contact sont utilisés afin de mieux protéger le sol et d’en préserver la faune qui cohabite avec la vigne. Après avoir suivi le cahier des charges de l’Agriculture Biologique pendant une décennie , le domaine a entrepris une démarche officielle de conversion « AB » en 2019.

BIO ET RENDEMENTS

En suivant les pratiques culturales du « BIO », les rendements tendent à diminuer, ce qui produit des jus plus concentrés et confère aux vins richesse et complexité. En 2019, les rendements en appellation « AOC Alsace » étaient de 57hl/ha contre 80 hl/ha autorisés par le cahier des charges. Quant aux « Grands Crus », ils avoisinaient un rendement de 40hl/ha contre 55hl/ha autorisés.

BIO ET VINIFICATION

La pratique du BIO ne s’applique pas seulement aux vignes mais également à la cave. Une attention particulière est accordée à l’utilisation parcimonieuse du souffre (So2) ainsi que celle des intrants œnologiques. Au domaine on n’ajoute qu’un minimum de souffre nécessaire à la protection du vin et on privilégie les éléments endogènes contenus dans les raisins plutôt que de faire appel à des produits issus de l’industrie chimique.

Les Vins

Plus de la moitié de l’encépagement du domaine Justin Boxler est consacrée aux cépages dits nobles : Gewurztraminer, Muscat, Pinot Gris et Riesling…

Le terroir du Grand Cru Sommerberg
Couleur d’automne dans le vignoble Justin Boxler
Baie de Riesling Domaine Justin Boxler

CÉPAGES

Plus de la moitié de l’encépagement du domaine Justin Boxler est consacrée aux cépages dits nobles : Gewurztraminer, Muscat, Pinot Gris et Riesling. Mais c’est le Riesling qui prévaut sur le domaine avec ses 4 hectares en exploitation alors que le Pinot Noir est appelé à se développer en surface dans le futur.

ITINÉRAIRE TECHNIQUE

L’ensemble des vendanges se fait manuellement. Le temps de presse varie selon les cépages afin de permettre aux jus de s’extraire le plus délicatement possible et de gagner en finesse et en complexité.
Après débourbage à froid, les jus sont entonnés dans des foudres. La fermentation alcoolique démarre sous l’impulsion de levures indigènes présentes dans les raisins. Après fermentation, les vins sont élevés dans ces mêmes foudres jusqu’à leur mise en bouteille à la propriété neuf à douze mois plus tard.

LA GAMME DES VINS

TRADITION : mise en avant du cépage. Les vins sont frais, prêts à boire dans les 3 ans après mise en bouteille.
VIGNES SÉLECTIONNÉES : mise à l’honneur du terroir. C’est particulièrement le cas du Lieu-dit Pfoeller, terroir à dominante calcaire. Ces vins peuvent se conserver en cave plus de 5 ans.
GRAND CRU : vinification parcellaire et identitaire pour chaque terroir. Avec 4 quatre Grands Crus et trois cépages différents, le domaine propose sept cuvées d’une garde de 10 ans et plus.
EXCEPTION : maturité prolongée sur pied.  Ces vins de longue garde sont  désignés sous l’appellation « Vendanges Tardives » ou « Sélection de Grains Nobles ».

vins-justin-boxler

VINS D'ALSACE

Vigneron Indépendant

JUSTIN BOXLER

15 - 16 rue des Trois Épis 68230 Niedermorschwihr

Tél. +33/3.89.27.11.07

Ouvert - Cave et Dégustation - 8:00 à 12:00 et 14:00 à 19:00

sur réservation les dimanches de janvier, février et mars

Contact


Maison Vins d'Alsace Justin Boxler
Vignoble Justin BOXLER
Cave de dégustation domaine Justin BOXLER
Instagram Vins Justin Boxler

Merci de votre visite !

OUVERTURE DU CAVEAU

 
vins BoxlerEn vous espérant en bonne santé ?
Dès lundi 18 mai nous avons le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau au caveau de dégustation.

Découvrez notre tout dernier millésime avec le Rosé 2019 !

Notre caveau sera limité à 8 personnes et ouvert du lundi au samedi de 9:00 à 12:00 et de 14:00 à 18:00 au 16 rue des Trois Épis à Niedermorschwihr.

Concernant l’expédition de nos vins, contactez-nous par téléphone au +33.(0)3.89.27.11.07 par émail à l’adresse justin@vinsboxler.fr , ou par le formulaire de contact du site, afin de vous faire parvenir un bon de commande et nos tarifs.

Les Frais de port sont offert dès 150,00 € de commande en France et en Belgique.

Bien sincèrement,
Les familles Boxler-Wiss